Call (212)737-9000 To Book Your Consultation Today

Blog

14 Things That Have Gluten in Them That You Wouldn’t Expect

Category: Blog

Cutting back on gluten can undeniably improve our health. It can prevent less bloating, nausea, stomach cramps, fatigue, and brain fog. People have also reported significant weight loss when cutting out gluten.

Here are some things that contain gluten that you probably wouldn’t expect. It’s good to be informed so that you know exactly what’s going in your body.

1. Soy sauce (check out Braggs Liquid Aminos it’s a gluten-free non-GMO soy sauce).

2. Oats (noncontaminated pure oats are gluten-free. Most commercial oats are grown on the same land with wheat, barley, and rye and then processed in facilities that also process wheat, barley, and rye, so they become contaminated with gluten. If you want gluten-free oats go for an organic brand).

3. Chicken broth (usually contains wheat, so just make sure it says gluten-free on the package).

4. Some seasonings including gravy cubes and ground spices (just read ingredients labels and make sure you understand all the ingredients listed).

5. Shampoos and conditioners (this puts gluten straight into the scalp, read the ingredients labels and make sure it doesn’t contain gluten. Our skin (including the hair and scalp is the largest organic of the body, so it’s best not to saturate it with gluten).

6. Veggie burgers (most veggie burgers contain gluten, so just make sure it says gluten-free on the packaging. Check out Hilary’s Veggie Burgers made with wholesome ingredients and no gluten, and absolutely delicious, a great alternative to burgers!)

7. Salad dressings (it’s always safer to make your own salad dressings, make your own using olive oil and some lemon, you could also add some honey if you want it sweeter).

8. Artificial coloring and artificial flavoring contain gluten.

9. Baking powder (go for baking soda instead which is just pure bicarbonate soda without added cornstarch or fillers).

10. Citric acid (some citric acids contain gluten).

11. Teriyaki sauce.

12. Tamari (go for wheat-free tamari).

13. Vinegars (use rice vinegar and balsamic vinegar).

14. Soba noodles (go for the buckwheat ones that are gluten-free).

To schedule a consultation with Liana, our nutritionist, please go to www.completewellnessnyc.com and contact us to schedule an appointment. 

Tags